Scientific Review Board

In keeping with the Research Program’s aim to support scientists from all areas of the biological sciences and beyond, the AAF Scientific Review Board itself represents a broad spectrum of scientific expertise, and all applications are reviewed by the Board.

  • Michael J. Welsh, M.D. , Chair
    University of Iowa / Howard Hughes Medical Institute
    Dr. Welsh’s research is focused on the pathophysiology of airway disease in cystic fibrosis and on the DEG/ENaC family of Na+ channels. Dr. Welsh has served as President of the American Society for Clinical Investigation and the Association of American Physicians. He is a member of the Institute of Medicine, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the National Academy of Sciences. Dr. Welsh received his M.D. from the University of Iowa College of Medicine.
  • Michael J. Holtzman, M.D.
    Washington University in St. Louis
    Dr. Holtzman conducts research on the role of infection in the development and progression of chronic airway diseases such as asthma and COPD. The work aims to identify novel disease pathways and to translate these findings into new anti-viral, anti-inflammatory, and anti-mucus therapeutics in a multidisciplinary drug discovery program. He is the Seldin Professor and Director of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at Washington University and received his M.D. from Northwestern University.
  • Jean-Pierre Kinet, M.D.
    Harvard Medical School
    Dr. Kinet’s recent focus includes the role of mast cells and their receptors in inflammation, and the mechanisms and biological consequences of calcium mobilization in immune system cells. Dr. Kinet has conducted extensive research and development of new therapies, and he is a Board member of several biotechnology companies, and a Director at UCB Pharma. Dr. Kinet received his M.D. from the University of Liege, Belgium.
  • Richard M. Locksley, M.D.
    University of California, San Francisco / Howard Hughes Medical Institute
    Dr. Locksley’s laboratory focuses on tracking cytokine expression in model systems, as a mechanism to investigate complex functional interactions between innate and adaptive cells in the immune system. He is particularly interested in allergic diseases such as asthma. Dr. Locksley is an elected a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and has received awards from the American Society for Clinical Investigation and the American Association of Physicians. Dr. Locksley received his M.D. from the University of Rochester, New York.
  • Philippa Marrack, Ph.D.
    National Jewish Health / Howard Hughes Medical Institute
    Dr. Marrack is interested in the specificity, development, survival, and function of T cells bearing alpha-beta receptors for antigen + MHC. Together with John Kappler, she is establishing the rules that govern the interactions between T cells and the antigens they recognize. Her laboratory is also studying the function of the vaccine adjuvant alum, which dramatically biases immune responses to TH2-type cells. In addition, Dr. Marrack is studying how alum improves immunological memory and whether Bcl-2 proteins, which affect a cell’s lifecycle, are involved. Dr. Marrack received her Ph.D. from Cambridge University, New Hall.
  • Carl F. Nathan, M.D.
    Weill Cornell Medicine
    Dr. Nathan’s extensive work on macrophage and neutrophil activation/deactivation, the respiratory burst and inducible nitric oxide synthase (iNOS), has led to current projects that focus on inflammation and macrophage interactions with Mycobacterium tuberculosis (Mtb). During these interactions, genetic and chemical screens converge on Mtb enzymes, helping the organism resist sterilization by the immune system. Dr. Nathan received his M.D. from Harvard Medical School. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine, and is the recipient of the 2009 Robert Koch Award, from the Robert Koch Foundation, in recognition of his groundbreaking research work into the mechanisms of defense against bacterial infection.
  • Christine E. Seidman, M.D.
    Harvard Medical School / Howard Hughes Medical Institute
    Dr. Seidman has investigated the molecular etiology of human diseases, with a focus on congenital heart disease, familial hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, and familial dilated cardiomyopathy. Her research has centered on defining the pathways involved in heart development, and identifying gene mutations that lead to pathologic remodeling of the human heart. Dr. Seidman is a member of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and the National Academy of Sciences. She received her M.D. from George Washington University.
  • Kevan M. Shokat, Ph.D.
    University of California, San Francisco / Howard Hughes Medical Institute
    Dr. Shokat has developed a chemical-genetics technique to decipher individual kinases and their cellular signaling networks. His goals are to understand each kinase’s role in the body, and to learn which kinases would be good drug targets. Dr. Shokat is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, a recipient of the Eli Lilly Award from the American Chemical Society, and the Outstanding Mentor Award from the UCSF Postdoctoral Scholars Association. He received his Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley.
  • Jenny P-Y. Ting, Ph.D.
    University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
    Dr. Ting’s research focuses on molecular pathways that impact immunity and inflammation. Her current work focuses innate immune sensors/receptors that are members of the NLR family. These proteins affect the host response to infections, but Dr. Ting and others have shown that they also impact cancer, metabolic diseases, and autoimmune disorders, including asthma. Dr. Ting received her Ph.D. from Northwestern University. She is an NIH MERIT Awardee.